Intervals Blog

Intervals content comes from FSRC members. Share your club news or running-related experiences, expertise, or interests in the next edition. No advertisements, please.

Submission guidelines:

  • 750-word maximum
  • Please submit your article in a Word document
  • Up to 2 images (2 MB size-limit, per image) may be submitted, per article — please include image sources
  • Please send submissions to by the deadlines listed below
  • Submission deadlines are as follows: March 1st (spring edition), June 1st (summer edition), September 1st (fall edition), and December 1st (winter edition)

President’s Message – August 2020 ()

Frederick Steeplechasers president's message

Hello running family, I hope everyone is staying healthy in these highly unusual times.  As we navigate through these rough and confusing months, now is the time to “come together” and lean on each other to ensure everyone gets through this safely.  We all know some people who have been affected one way or another …

Plantar Fasciitis, Part 2: What to do next ()

Plantar fasciitis runners

Part 2 of 2

In part one, the causes of plantar fasciitis were discussed. In part two we will discuss different treatments for this condition. Treatments are widely varied and the proverbial “one shoe does not fit all” (pun intended) applies. When treating this condition, use conservative measures first then move to less conservative …

2020 FSRC Memorial Scholarship Winners ()

The Frederick Steeplechasers Running Club has announced six hardworking, deserving recipients for its 2020 FSRC Memorial Scholarship. This year, three male and three female athletes from Frederick County received a total of $9,500 from the club, which it raised through its annual “Rick’s Run” event and sponsor contributions.

Sophie Geernaert (Urbana High School) and Thomas Silva (Frederick High School) were the top scholarship female and male recipients, each receiving $2,500. Recipients of the second awards were Audrey McClatchie (Walkersville High School, $1,500) and Kathryn Sloan (Governor Thomas Johnson High School, $1,500). Third award recipients this year were Luke Hartlaub (Urbana High School, $750) and Owen Bubczyk (Catoctin High School, $750).

Read below for each winner’s bio and photo!

Continue reading “2020 FSRC Memorial Scholarship Winners”